Ferrie Family History

Govan, Scotland

Govan figures prominently in the history of the Stevenson and Coleman Families, as several generations were born, married and/or died here.
In 1886 Warren Coleman married Hessie Stevenson in Belfast. They must have moved to Govan before 1895, as all their children were born here.

The place name Govan has been used in many forms throughout history and is generally accepted as having been derived from the Celtic 'Gowan', or Welsh 'Gofan', signifying 'a smith'. Accordingly, Govan is 'the land of the smiths'. Its coat of arms, established in 1864, is appropriately Nihil Sine Labore (Nothing Without Work).
During the 1830s, Govan was a small, picturesque village of thatched cottages whose inhabitants relied mainly on weaving and agriculture for their livelihoods. After 1840, however, the construction of great shipyards, engineering works and ancillary industries transformed the community. The opening of the vast Prince's Dock in 1897 brought more trade and jobs to Govan and workers who could not find homes in the Burgh travelled from Glasgow each day, by train, tram, on the numerous cross-river ferries and on the Glasgow District Subway which opened in 1896.
At: www.theglasgowstory.com ("The Glasgow Story", click on 'Neighbourhoods' and then 'Govan')

For more about Govan on the Internet, see also Govan Reminiscence Group

Many families came over from Ireland, to work in the ship-yards. As R. (SP) says, (see below):
"Practically all the adults in the street are Irish and the men seem to work in the ship-yards. "